Alice Riccardi

Yoga, Alexander Technique, Life Coaching & More…

“You catch a lot more flies with honey than with vinegar…”

This was one of my mom’s favorite sayings.  In fact, many of the conversations that take place between my mom and I seem to consist primarily of these kinds of aphorisms.  When I was  younger and living at home, I would relay stories of personal dismay to her and she would answer with things like, “God helps them who help themselves”, or “Everyone puts their pants on one leg at a time”, or “free your mind and your ass will follow”, (she didn’t really say that but it’s a good one isn’t it?).

Anyway, I’ve been thinking about the flies and honey advice.  In the past, I didn’t like it much as I interpreted it as manipulation and backing down somehow.  I thought it was about being “fake-y” nice and losing myself.  I realize now that it’s not about backing down or being fake. It’s about being true to what’s important to me.  For one thing, it’s about the importance of  my health and well-being.  It’s about less resistance and how to stay in the flow. It’s not about where I am going but HOW I am getting there.  And, when I am in the HOW, I am in the NOW.

So, check it out.  The next time you are in a disagreement with someone, try some honey first.  And if that doesn’t work out,  you can always reach for the vinegar, but it least it will be your choice….

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

